Arthur S. Link-Warren F. Kuehl Prize for Documentary Editing

The Link-Kuehl Prize was awarded for outstanding collections of primary source materials in the fields of international or diplomatic history, especially those distinguished by the inclusion of commentary designed to interpret the documents and set them within their historical context. Published works as well as electronic collections and audio-visual compilations were eligible. The prize was not limited to works on American foreign policy but was open to works on the history of international, multi-archival, and/or American foreign relations, policy, and diplomacy.

The Link-Kuehl Award was last awarded in 2022.

Winners of the Link-Kuehl Award:

  • 2022, Constance B. Schulz and staff, The Papers of the Revolutionary Era Pinckney Statesmen
  • 2020, David Reynolds and Vladimir Pechatnov, The Kremlin Letters
  • 2017 Douglas Brinkley and Luke Nichter, eds., The Nixon Tapes
  • 2015 Frank Costigliola, ed., The Kennan Diaries
  • 2013 The Papers of George Catlett Marshall. Vol. 6: “'The Whole World Hangs in the Balance,’ January 8, 1947-September 30, 1949.” Eds., Larry I. Bland, Mark A. Stoler, Sharon Ritenour Stevens, and Daniel D. Holt
  • 2011 Svetlana Savranskaya,
Thomas Blanton, Vladislav Zubok , eds., Masterpieces of History: The
 Peaceful End of the Cold War in Europe, 1989
  • 2009 David C. Geyer and Douglas E. Selvage, eds., Soviet-American Relations: the Détente Years, 1969-1972.
  • 2005 Jeffrey P. Kimball, The Vietnam War Files: Uncovering the Secret History of Nixon Era Strategy.

Past Winners of the Former Kuehl Award:

  • 2003 Harriet Hyman Alonso, Growing Up Abolitionist
  • 2001 Fredrik Logevall, Choosing War: The Lost Chance for Peace and the Escalation of War in Vietnam
  • 1999 Frances Early, A World Without War: How U.S. Feminists and Pacifists Resisted World War I
  • 1995 Lawrence S. Wittner, One World or None: A History of the World Nuclear Disarmament Movement through 1953
  • 1993 Thomas Knock, To End All Wars: Woodrow Wilson and the Quest for a New World Order
  • 1991 Charles DeBenedetti and Charles Chatfield, The Antiwar Movement of the Vietnam Era
  • 1988 Melvin Small, Johnson, Nixon, and the Doves
  • 1987 Harold Josephson, Biographical Dictionary of Modern Peace Leaders

Past Winners of the Former Link Prize:

  • 2001 Warren Kimball, Churchill and Roosevelt: The Complete Correspondence
  • 1996 John C.A. Stagg, et al., The Papers of James Madison: Secretary of State Series, Volume 2
  • 1991 Justus Doenecke, In Danger Undaunted: The Anti-Interventionist Movement for 1940-1941 as Revealed in the Papers of the America First Committee